Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In Skip to Content

Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework

The Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework (VEYLDF) focuses on early experiences and learning from birth, and gives best practice advice to early childhood professionals on ways to support children and families through the first eight years of a child's life.

Learning and development outcomes

The VEYLDF adopts a comprehensive approach to children's learning and development.

It identifies the five key Learning and Development Outcomes for children:

  • Children have a strong sense of identity.
  • Children are connected with, and contribute to, their world.
  • Children have a strong sense of wellbeing.
  • Children are confident and involved learners.
  • Children are effective communicators.

These Learning and Development Outcomes and the eight Practice Principles offer a shared language that helps early childhood professionals work more effectively with other professionals and families in a range of early years settings, including:

  • maternal and child health
  • child care (family, occasional and long day care)
  • early childhood intervention
  • family support services
  • playgroups
  • kindergarten programs
  • the early years of school
  • cultural organisations.

The VEYLDF includes a set of Illustrative Maps developed for early childhood professionals to inform curriculum planning and pedagogy with young children, that link the five outcomes with the first three levels of the Victorian Curriculum F-10.

View VEYLDF illustrative maps

The VEYLDF's Cultural Knowledge Story, developed by Dr Sue Lopez Atkinson (Yorta Yorta) and Aboriginal artist Annette Sax (Taungurung), illustrates the link between the framework's elements: Learning and Development Outcomes, Practice Principles and Transitions.

View Cultural Knowledge Story

View the VCAA's resources to support implementation of the VEYLDF

More information

For comprehensive information on the VEYLDF: